Playwrights' Competition Calendar

10/12/2014

15 Sleeps

Filed under: New Competitions — Gina @ 23:35

How’s your Christmas shopping going? Mine’s okay but the husband’s a bit grumpy because I don’t know what I want. I was going to say “Your love is enough” but I couldn’t get it out for laughing.

I’ve been busy rewriting the book and have already sent it out to 3 new agents so am feeling quite proud. I’ve also reworked my play after all the comments from the Experiment night and am just waiting for Himself to read first and comment, but don’t feel I can hassle him (see note above). It’s only about an hour so the places I can send it are limited but I can try Soho who don’t seem to have a limit and nor do 503. Lucky there’s a handy ‘Where to send your script’ page roundabouts.

Speaking of my Nuffield Experiment night, they’ve just opened for submissions again for their February night so I can highly recommend that if you’re close enough to get there. I’ve also heard that Papatango 2015 is also open for submissions with the winner getting a four week run (I think). Manchester’s 24:7 Theatre Festival is gearing up for next year too, but they don’t have any specific dates yet. Ooh, now, they’re looking for one hour plays… thanks Ian.

I had an interesting email from the Royal Court today which they sent because of my 2 1/2 minutes of fame last year with my Found Play. This year they’re doing Mini Plays:

Something’s got under your skin. It’s niggling away. You need to do something about it. We’re listening…

GRIT is an open call to writers of all ages and experiences to contribute a play that can fit in the palm of your hand.”

Look at the time! I should be in bed now, even though it means I’ll have to turn off the Christmas tree lights which I hate doing because it all looks so beautiful (and makes it really difficult to find the tree chocolates). So good night and happy writing all. X

P.S. I’ve just found a fabulous quote:

“I would always rather be happy than dignified.”
—Charlotte Brontë , Jane Eyre

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

