Playwrights' Competition Calendar

04/02/2013

Enter Witty Title Here.

Filed under: New Competitions — Gina @ 20:48

Quick post because I am soooo busy trying to get my youth theatre play in by Friday, finish my mozaic play for my course, and do homework as well as the job, the children, the house, the husband, the blocked drain which stinks, and the neighbour’s child who I’m babysitting and WON’T GO TO BED!

Here are the new guidelines for Newsjack which starts again next week – a great way for comedy writers to get their work on the BBC.

The Bruntwood Prize is open for business, but you do have till June to get your play in. The prize is a biggy, but so are the number of entries.

The Kings Cross Award is also open for full length plays – closing date in April.

If you have a play between 60 and 90 minutes ready now you can try The First 20 Minutes with Writers Avenue, but I’m afraid that closes on the 7th February.

There’s also Write Now 4 at the Brockley Jack. They’re looking for 10 minute plays on the theme of ‘Legacy’.

I had my “Thanks but no thanks” from the Writer’s Prize last week which means I didn’t even get past the ‘first 10’ read but I’m not bitter. Well, I won’t be in a week or so. And now, I’m sure there’s more out there but I’m off to drink more wine because if one more child creeps down stairs with a ridiculous excuse I may commit braticide. X

 

P.S.

I’ve just heard about a local competition for local people (local meaning the Southwest).

Butterfly Psyche are looking for plays about “making trouble.” It looks like a great opportunity to get your play on in Bath and Bristol.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

