Playwrights' Competition Calendar

30/04/2012

New Comp.s and First Drafts.

Filed under: New Competitions,Random Musings — Anon @ 18:42

Hello happy writers and welcome to the end of April.

For you soap fans out there if you don’t want to try for the Emmerdale Writers Initiative how about writing for HOLLYOAKS. They are now looking for a number of Storyline Writers to join the existing Story Department and, as they are recruiting at different levels, professional experience isn’t essential! If you fancy a go choose a Hollyoaks character that you either like or dislike the most and explain why; then choose one Hollyoaks story that you either liked or disliked the most and explain why; and finally in no more than 300 words pitch a story for Hollyoaks. The deadline for receipt of completed applications is midday Tuesday, 8 May 2012.

There’s a new competition I’ve found by the SCOTTISH COMMUNITY DRAMA ASSOCIATION. It’s their Play on Words 2012-13 One-Act Playwriting Competition. Closing date 30th June, and it does have an entry fee.

There’s also a post on the Facebook Playwriting UK page from The Octagon Theatre, Bolton with an invitation to get involved. They’ve expanded their new writing department and revamped many of their procedures including their script reading service (they offer guaranteed feed back).

If you like wasting time on YouTube I’ve been watching The Royal Court Young Writers Toolkit. There have been five episodes so far (each one only 2 or 3 minutes long): Top Tips, Inspiration, Where and When, Motivation and Focus, and What Plays to Read. I can avoid writing all day on things like this.

I’ve been very busy though, and am now sitting on two first drafts – one of a mini-opera for the ENO comp., and the other of a radio play I started AGES ago (although it hasn’t quite got a last scene yet – original story was a romance novella I wrote when I thought Mills and Boon could make my fortune, so last scene was full of heaving breasts, beating hearts and throbbing things which won’t really quite fit with the play it’s become!). I’ve also been getting my pencil-case ready for my first Nuffield Writers’ Group meeting on Thursday. Very nervous – not sure I’m as clever as they think I might be. Not even convinced I’m as clever as I am.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

