Playwrights' Competition Calendar

18/03/2012

New Competitions and New Thoughts.

Filed under: New Competitions,Random Musings — Gina @ 20:24

I’ve just finished up-dating the calendar if you need some writing inspiration.

In April you’ll find a call for scripts from The 42nd Theatre Company. They are currently looking for submissions of work from writers of any age and experience, plays of all lengths are welcomed and writers whose scripts are commissioned will be compensated.

In May you’ll find the School of Media & Performance at University College Falmouth has opened this year’s Nick Darke Award. The award will continue to celebrate the best writing for stage, screen and radio with writers having the chance of winning £6000. Writers are asked to submit work on an environmental theme in recognition of Nick’s lifelong commitment to this issue. The word environmental may however be broadly interpreted.

June is still empty but July now has the Wales Drama Award which is so good it makes me want to move to Wales because it’s only for writers who live there. The winner will receive £10,000 with two runners-up receiving £1000 each. All award winners will be given an opportunity to develop their script / ideas with either BBC Cymru Wales TV Drama or National Theatre Wales.

I’ve also decided on my new year’s resolution (a bit late but who’s counting). It leads on from the conversation at last week’s Emerging Writers’ meeting with Angela Street about finding time to write. My perennial moan is I’m short of time for writing, not excuses for not doing it. This morning I was moaning about having to visit His family when I wanted to go to the allotment, and His reply was that we weren’t leaving for an hour so why didn’t I go now? So I did and it might not have been quite as long as I wanted, but it was still great.

My point is I will stop looking for time I don’t have for writing/gardening/myself and start using the time I do have.

Thank you Grasshopper.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

